Homepage » The Department

The Department

The Department of Music Studies is part of the School of Philosophy of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. It has a strong research profile in all scientific disciplines pertinent to music and musicology. Many of its faculty members are also musicians with active national and international performing careers.

The co-presence of various scientific disciplines in the Department is creating an academic environment conducive to music studies, which meets the contemporary international scientific standards. During their studies, students acquire scientific reasoning by combining music knowledge with musicological practices.

The Department offers a five - year undergraduate (Bachelor’s) degree in Music Studies. In addition, alumni as well as students with a bachelor’s degree can apply to the Department’s graduate program (Master’s degree) in any of the following disciplines: 1) Historical and Systematic Musicology, 2) Ethnomusicology and Cultural Anthropology, 3) Music Technology, 4) Byzantine Musicology, and 5) Music Pedagogy. Finally, the Department has curated various doctoral research and has awarded several Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees, in relevant areas of research.

The Department of Music Studies offers a multifaceted undergraduate program based on scientific, theoretical, and philosophical approaches with direct associations to all relevant scientific disciplines. The curated thematic units are presented in depth, assuring the development of the students’ critical thinking as well as their methodological and research profiles.

The conducted research is directly related to all curated scientific disciplines. Students are presented with current research trends and international scientific research, in all relevant research topics. This multi-disciplinary approach to music studies helps them acquire knowledge, skills, experience, and critical thinking, enables them to become useful members of the society, and allows them to seek employment in a variety of research and applied areas, such as:

  • General education (general schools)

  • Music education (music schools and conservatories)

  • Scientific libraries and scientific music archives

  • Scientific research centers

  • Artistic institutions and establishments,

  • Artistic managing offices and agencies

  • Concert halls, orchestras, choirs, music theaters, music groups

  • Music publishing agencies

  • Newspapers and printed mass media

  • Radio and television

  • Sound technology and recording

The Program, also emphasizes in music pedagogy. The students’ teaching adequacy is secured via a number of relevant courses and practical training.

Alumni of this program, having acquired a soundly-based inter-disciplinary foundation in music and musicology, can be accepted in national and international graduate programs, not only in musicology, but also in other relevant areas (anthropology of music, technology and informatics, psychology, music pedagogy, music therapy etc.).