Norwegian and Greek music students link hands and share sounds over the internet 

Thursday, September 23rd, Sentralen Forstanderskapssalen, 4:00 PM



Transmissions is a special three year Norway-Greece programme between Ultima and the Onassis Cultural Foundation in Athens with various presentations in Norway and Greece. 

This project within the Transmissions programme is an artistic university exchange project involving six students from the University of Oslo and six from the Kapodistrian University of Athens. 

Focusing on the limitations, possibilities and mutations that occur during modern technological collaboration, the project celebrates cross-border cooperation.

The Music Studies departments at the University of Oslo and the Kapodistrian University of Athens will connect via the web and the students at the Oslo and Athens ends of the connection will together perform two pieces, with real time online interaction, which they have prepared over the course of the year during a series of preparatory workshops. 

In collaboration with Institutt for Musikkvitenskap, Universitetet i Oslo, Kapodisirian University of Athens and Onassis Cultural Foundation. 

Students from Athens:

Fotis Rovolis, Maria Katsipi, Penelope Bekiari, Panagiota Anastasopoulou, Anna-Maria Christodoulou, Gabriel Farilekas (Department of Music Studies, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens)

Students from Oslo: 

Mari Lesteberg, Sebastian Fongen Langslet, Christian Lerbo, Anders Salomon Lidal, Søren Hunskaar, Elias Gram-Nilsen (Department of Musicology, University of Oslo)

Orestis Karamanlis (Department of Music Studies, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens) – project leader

Stefano Fasciani (Department of Musicology, UiO) – project leader

Peter Edwards (Department of Musicology, UiO) – project leader

Henrik Haraldsen Sveen  – technical assistant


The project “transmissions” is coordinated by Onassis Stegi in partnership with Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival with the support of the EEA Grants and the Norwegian Financial Mechanisms 2014–2021.